Meet The Brown University School Fund Team!

Hi all!
Now that you’ve met the Outreach Team, we wanted to introduce you to the Brown University School Fund Team. (Brace yourself, this is a LARGE group, with a lot of amazing things to say! 🙂
Meet Saeed
Class: Sophomore
Hometown: Manassas, VA
Favorite Artist/Band: Lupe Fiasco, K’naan
Last Book Read: Outliers by Malcolm Gladwell
Interesting Fact: I almost drowned in the Nile
Meet Laila
Class: Sophomore
Hometown: Clarksville, MD
Favorite Artist/Band: Kanye West
Last Book Read: A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini
Interesting Fact: I used to be on a precision jump roping team.
Meet Michelle
Class: Freshman
Hometown: Los Angeles, CA
Favorite Artist/Band: Bon Iver, Radiohead, Phillip Glass
Last Book Read: Animal’s People by Indra Sinha
Interesting Fact: My brother and I are really close!
Meet Zalalem
Class: Sophomore
Hometown: St. Paul, MN
Favorite Artist/Band: Bob Marley, Aretha Franklin, Beyonce
Last Book Read: Life of Pi by Yann Martel
Interesting Fact: My favorite TV show is Keeping Up with the Kardashians
Meet Adam
Class: Sophomore
Hometown: Springfield, MO
Favorite Artist/Band: Ratatat, A Tribe Called Quest, Zac Brown Band
Last Book Read: The Cosmos by Carl Sagan
Interesting Fact: Not related to me, but 48 hours of video footage gets uploaded to YouTube every minute
Meet Jeffrey
Class: Sophomore
Hometown: Montclair, NJ
Favorite Artist/Band: Gogol Bordello, Man Man, Andrew WK
Last Book Read: Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett
Interesting Fact: I have a labradoodle named Chester.
Meet Rexy
Class: Sophomore
Hometown: Dumaguete City, Philippines
Favorite Artist/Band: Modest Mouse, Arcade Fire, Wolf Parade
Last Book Read: Pedagogy of the Oppressed by Paulo Freire
Interesting Fact: Went back to the Philippines for the first time in six years this summer (and for the second time since I moved eight years ago). It was warm and glorious and eye-opening.
Meet Claudine
Class: Sophomore
Hometown: Miami, Florida & Paris, France
Favorite Artist/Band: Skrillex, Laidback Luke, Porter Robinson
Last Book Read: The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson
Interesting Fact: I was in the French version of Kidz Bop (Please don’t try to find it).
Meet Chinezi
Class: Freshman
Hometown: Towson, Maryland
Favorite Artist/Band: Fun., Beyonce, The XX, Beirut
Last Book Read: Me Talk Pretty One Day by David Sedaris
Interesting Fact: I was born in Lagos, Nigeria and I have lots of family there!
Meet Gerianne
Class: Freshman
Hometown: Darien, CT
Favorite Artist/Band: Coldplay, Ingrid Michaelson, Jack Johnson
Last Book Read: Bossypants by Tina Fey
Interesting Fact: I volunteered in EMS throughout high school
Meet Michael
Class: Sophomore
Hometown: Trumbull, CT
Favorite Artist/Band: Radiohead, Modest Mouse, Nirvana
Last Book Read: The Greatest Show on Earth by Richard Dawkins
Interesting Fact: I once went Zorbing in New Zealand
Meet Jamie
Class: Freshman
Hometown: Los Angeles, CA
Favorite Artist/Band: Adele
Last Book Read: The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson
Interesting Fact: My high school volleyball team was number one in the nation for a few weeks my senior year of high school!
Meet Mariana
Class: Freshman
Hometown: Lisbon, Portugal
Favorite Artist/Band: The Weeknd, J. Cole
Last Book Read: Say You’re One of Them by Uwem Akpan
Interesting Fact: Portugal’s national dish, codfish, is actually fished in Norwegian seas
Meet Destin
Class: Freshman
Hometown: Chattanooga, TN
Favorite Artist/Band: Radiohead, Modest Mouse
Last Book Read: The Art of Non-Conformity by Chris Guillebeau
Interesting Fact: I will have at least one pet giraffe by the time I’m 39.
Meet Anny
Class: Freshman
Hometown: West Hartford, CT
Favorite Artist/Band: Blind Pilot, Bon Iver, Yo-Yo Ma
Last Book Read: Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer
Interesting Fact: I can whistle through my tongue
Meet Hunter
Class: Sophomore
Hometown: Myrtle Beach, SC
Favorite Artist/Band: Radiohead, Jay-Z
Last Book Read: Anthem by Ayn Rand
Interesting Fact: I have a labradoodle named Izzy
Meet Jean Jacques
Class: Sophomore
Hometown: Buffalo, NY
Favorite Artist/Band: J Cole
Last Book Read: Naruto by Masashi Kishimoto
Interesting Fact: I love playing FIFA on Xbox
Meet Justin
Class: Sophomore
Hometown: Hewlett Harbor, NY
Favorite Artist/Band: Drake
Last Book Read: Prey by Michael Crichton
Interesting Fact: I am in the Brown 8-year Medical Program
Meet Jose
Class: Sophomore
Hometown: Manorville, NY
Favorite Artist/Band: Kanye West, Childish Gambino
Last Book Read: The Dew Breaker by Edwidge Danticat
Interesting Fact: My mom still has to cut the crusts off of my bread before I eat it.
How did you first hear about The School Fund?
Saeed: I met Matt, the founder of the club, at a community service opportunity fair.
Laila: Heard about it from Saeed and Matt. As they talked about the goal/mission of the organization, I was immediately interested and got involved.
Adam: Saeed lived in my dorm last year. We became friends and he introduced me
Claudine: I did not hear about it. I saw the album Laila posted on her Facebook of when she went to Tanzania with Saeed which I found so amazing, so the next time I saw her, I asked her about it and eventually got involved.
Mariana: I found it on Facebook, before I got to Brown, when Nicholas D. Kristof mentioned TSF on one of his statuses!
Hunter: Zelalem told me about TSF receiving an award from the Clinton Global Initiative and I knew I wanted to be involved.
What made you excited about volunteering for TSF?
Laila: Being able to work directly for a non-profit/start up with an extremely motivated group of people trying to effect change in educational equality.
Jeffrey: I think the transparency and the organization of the School Fund is exciting and revolutionary, and I wanted to be a part of something that has helped and can help so many people.
Rexy: The mission of the school fund lies at a junction between education and development that fits beautifully with my academic and career interests. There are few things better than being able to help people realize their full potential.
Chinezi: I LOVE everything about TSF. What appealed to me the most was the transparency of the program. You can actually see how your activities are impacting children! It’s such a tangible program. I love it.
Hunter: TSF is a group that creates a very unique atmosphere conducive to the sharing and developing of personal initiatives. It’s awesome!
What do you do for TSF?
Laila: Outreach Officer/ Co-President of TSF @ Brown
Adam: I am on the technology and web communications group, something I’m very excited to get rolling
with.
Jeffrey: I am currently training to be an Operations Officer for the national organization, and I am
helping to organize the School Fund Gala
Rexy: Writing and editing “Why ___?” pages; setting foundations for Latin American expansion with the
Special Ops team.
Michael: I am an Operations Officer for the overall organization, and I work in Web Communications for
the Brown University group.
Anny: Rewriting/re-structuring the “Why___?” pages, member of the Web Development Research Team
Hunter: I am a Strategy & Development Officer who works mainly in data analysis
What’s the best part about volunteering for TSF?
Laila: Working with everyone in TSF – amazingly motivated and talented group of people!
Adam: Being able to be part of such a great organization in a laid-back, conversational atmosphere – while still feeling like I’m having an impact in bettering the lives of others.
Rexy: There’s this great feeling of energy, movement, and momentum that accompanies School Fund meetings. You can’t help but feel that good work is being done.
Mariana: If you have any idea of vision, the rest of the team will help you make it come true.
Anny: Every effort requires a lot of initiative and tight teamwork because TSF is completely student-led, but the payoff is tangible and all the more rewarding for it.
Any last words?
Michelle: Fund a TSF student today! : )
Adam: The space between your eyebrows is known as the “glabella”.
Rexy: Get involved! Keep the love going!
Claudine: There is a role for anyone! Even I (a visual arts and comparative literature concentrator) found my niche and made it work =D
Chinezi: This is quite possibly the best organization I’ve ever been a part of.
Michael: Thank you for taking an interest in TSF!
Jamie: GO TSF!
Thanks for reading! Stay tuned for another “Meet the Team” post, coming soon! 🙂 Thanks again to the Brown University TSF team for being so awesome and inspiring!
Happy Saturday!
Kristen

2 thoughts on “Meet The Brown University School Fund Team!

  1. Pingback: The School Fund – Brown University Invasion | theschoolfund

  2. Pingback: The School Fund Gala 2012, Follow-up | theschoolfund

Leave a Reply

